Metaphysics dissolved. Because who needs it?

Figs in Winter
8 min readFeb 24, 2022
[image: David Hume portrait by David Martin, chirnsidecommongood.org]

Take your time to read and digest the following quote. It is one of the most important bits of critical philosophy you’ll ever read:

“All the objects of human reason or enquiry may naturally be divided into two kinds, to wit, relations of ideas, and matters of fact. Of the first kind are the sciences of Geometry, Algebra, and Arithmetic … [which are] discoverable by the mere operation of thought. … Matters of fact, which are the second object of human reason, are not ascertained in the same manner; nor is our evidence of their truth, however great, of a like nature with the foregoing. … [Therefore] if we take in our hand any volume; of divinity or school metaphysics, for instance; let us ask, Does it contain any abstract reasoning concerning quantity or number? No. Does it contain any experimental reasoning concerning matter of fact and existence? No. Commit it then to the flames: for it can contain nothing but sophistry and illusion.” (David Hume, An Enquiry Concerning Human Understanding, section IV part I)

I myself have had a complicated relationship with the above passage. The first time I read it, early on in my studies of philosophy I was struck as if by lightening: YES!, I thought, that’s exactly right! Away with metaphysics!

Then years later I said to myself, wait a minute, it’s a good thing nobody has…

--

--

Figs in Winter

by Massimo Pigliucci. New Stoicism and Beyond. Entirely AI free.